
Forum Admin
Posted: Jun 16, 2006, 1:11 PM
|
|
Fake E-Mail Calls For E-Mail Confirmation
|
|
|
I just received the following e-mail: Dear Valued Member, According to our terms of services, you will have to confirm your e-mail by the following link, or your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons. http://www.bcdb.com/confirm.php?account=news - at - bcdb.com [links to 211.97.61.61/Confirmation_Sheet.pif] After following the instructions in the sheet, your account will not be interrupted and will continue as normal. Thanks for your attention to this request. We apologize for any inconvenience. Sincerely, Bcdb Abuse Department This e-mail purports to be from abuse-at-bcdb.com As that is one of my e-mails, and I did not send it, I know this is fake. I do not understand the purpose, though. Just wanted anyone who gets this e-mail to know it is FAKE, and not from us! The subject of this e-mail is: ACCOUNT ALERT It looks to have an attachment that has a possible virus. My scanner does NOT show a virus, but I am continuing to check. In any case, if you get this e-mail: 1) It is NOT from us! 2) Do NOT open the attachment! 3) Do NOT follow the link! ADDITION After some research, I do see this as happening to other sites as well- Google the title of the e-mail to see some of the others. After reading some of the other sites, it is apparent this is just another sort of "phishing" scheme- maybe with Viruses. Unfortunately, the Internet is not nearly as safe as it once was, and you must be ever vigilant against this (and many other) sorts of attacks. While I am not the great computer Guru, I would post these precautions we should ALL be taking! 1) Use a good, updated, current, and always-running Anti-Virus program. AVG is good, and it's free! 2) You NEED to always run a firewall. Personally, I think the one on Windows XP is not enough. Try Zone Alarm (also free) 3) You ALSO now need a Sybot Catcher...there is a Beta version of one XP sends you... but that is Beta. I use SpyBot, but Spy Sweeper is also good (but has a subscription fee) 4) Do NOT open any e-mail attachments unless you KNOW the sender. 5) As in life, if it sounds too good to be true, IT IS! No one is going to sell you Adobe Pagemaker for 25 bucks! You have NOT just won one million dollars. And no one in Nigeria is going to give you 15% of the 45 million they need to get out of the country. With regards to this site, there are only a few different e-mails you will get- NONE of which will have attachments. All e-mails will be over MY signature, and all include an "unsubscribe" option (because we do NOT want to Spam anyone). The only e-mails you will get would be of these types: 1) Reply to your Post notifications 2) E-mails with Daily Summaries of Forums YOU subscribe to 3) Occasional News items I send to all members. 4) If you e-mail me specifically, you may get a personal e-mail directly from me on your topic. That's it- any other e-mails claiming to be from BCDB are not. Maybe I am going a bit overboard on this post, but this concerns me greatly. Although this site is a community, with all of us sharing our likes, dislike, knowledge and information, when it comes down to it, I do view this site as an extension of me personally. I have put a lot of time- of myself- into it, and I view it as part of me. I see this as an attack on me, personally. And I do not like that! You have all trusted us with your e-mail and other personal information, and I want you to feel safe. And I do not want anyone to be infected or compromised, and think it was us. I have put a lot into these sites, and I hate to see some knuckle-head try and erase all our goodwill with a stupid Spam/Phishing e-mail scheme. So, just be on your toes out there!
-------------------------
Dave Koch Big Cartoon DataBase
|