Today, one of the greatest cookies of all time, the Oreo, is 100 years old.
It started out mound-shaped, but eventually was changed to its present shape. There have been imitations, but none can hold a candle to the cookie that can be twisted apart, or dunked in milk. And let's not forget that creamy middle.
There's been Oreo with Double Stuff, as well as holiday and season variations. And those old school ads with the Middleman were memorable.
For many years, Oreos weren't kosher, as they were made with lard. In 1997, after a three-year process, all Nabisco products were declared kosher by the Orthodox Union. (The company's 100 enormous baking ovens had to be cleaned with blowtorches.)
Recalling the 1976 remake A Star Is Born, where African-American vocalists Venetta Fields and Clydie King backed Barbra Streisand. The trio's name? "The Oreos"!
I don't eat Oreos very often, but when I do they are a treat.
Also, I'm glad they aren't made with lard anymore.
Not sure if this is true, but I heard somewhere that the recipe wasn't being changed just for Jews. Muslims and vegetarians also couldn't eat lard-ridden Oreos, and the diet-conscious were starting to read ingredients on food labels. IIRC, just before they changed the recipe, Nabisco started noticing that more and more packages of Oreos were staying on the grocery shelves.
Plus, there's Cookies 'n' Cream ice cream that uses Oreo cookie chunks as an ingredient. That is, the premium brands use Oreos; no idea what the discount grade brands put in their mix. Remember Nabisco Oreo's chief rival, Sunshine Hydrox? What was up with that "chemical" taste? Though, to be fair, Sunshine Bakeries also made those excellent Vienna Fingers. Of course, the Sunshine Bakeries have been assimilated into the Keebler collective.